Honeymoon Over

Happy New Year… two weeks late. Well, I hope it was fun for you either way.

My break was nice. I got to sleep and eat lots of food. My cousins came for Christmas and we had fun playing games and whatnot. Then my dad and I drove my bro and his stuff to Utah to move him back to school. It was right before school started, so I was very tired. In fact, we spent New Year’s Day driving down to SoCal, spent the night, then drove all day to Utah. We spent the night in a hotel, then moved him into his dorm the next day and then literally drove the 12 hours back to California right after. Absolutely exhausting with all that driving. Then I had to drive the 2 hours to get back to Sacramento the day after. It’s a good thing we don’t have classes on Mondays or else I would’ve never made it.

A week and a half into school and I’m starting to feel the pressure and stress again. Week 1 was nice and easy as usual, and I thought maybe Week 2 would be the same. Nope. We had a brutal 4 hour lecture on autopsy procedures and basically found out that our exam next week is basically an in depth look at the entire textbook. We had TWO lectures. Now we have some crazy scary exam. Yeah, I’m terrified and stressing out like crazy. Plus, I’m super behind on path because I decided that doing nothing this weekend was more important. So there’s that.

Life’s a ball right now. Most of it is my own doing, but not all of it this time. That autopsy exam is definitely not my own doing. I just hope I can photocopy the right pages and somehow jam all that info into my brain in the next few days.

On the bright side, I had a few packages come in that totally make my life so much happier. I’m easing my way into the world of fountain pens. I bought the Pilot Metropolitan (Animal Print, White Tiger edition because I have a thing for white pens) because it’s cheap and everyone says it’s one of the really good starter pens out there. I splurged on the ink and bought the Pilot Iroshizuku Tsuki-yo ink. It’s this ‘moonlight’ blue that’s absolutely gorgeous. It’s THE reason I even bothered with fountain pens. I wanted to write with that color ink for pages and pages. I could take notes forever with it. I could write NOVELS with it. Which I plan on doing eventually.

I went ahead and purchased more notebooks from Baron Fig pretty much so I could use this pen. I got the limited edition Three Legged Juggler Confidant and the new Time Travel limited edition Apprentice pack. I’m so excited to do this. It’s completely old school and I don’t care. The pen writes wonderfully. The ink looks gorgeous on paper. The notebooks are quite excellent for the fountain pen. There’s very minimal feathering and no bleed through. I can write on both sides of the page! Huge, huge plus. I have plans for these notebooks and I fully expect to use them all up this year. I’ll just have stacks of notebooks and journals piled up. Especially once I start rotations. I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say then.

It’s these little things in life that make it more bearable with all the stress and pressure of this program. Now let’s see how long this lasts. 😛

talk to me

