i like to brag sometimes

I received my anatomy grades today. My lecture exam grade hasn’t improved from the first one which is a disappointment. Apparently I was an idiot when I answered some of those questions and completely misunderstood what was being asked or just didn’t think it through all the way. Guess I need to slow down a bit when I take the final exam next. I was hoping for a higher grade, but I suppose that staying where I’m at means I’m consistent?

Lab, like I said before, went exactly as I predicted. I got two wrong and for those that know me or had me as a student know that will drive me absolutely cuh-ray-zee. I still got over 100, but the fact that I missed two easy ones and didn’t get the maximum amount of points will annoy me to death. I just want one perfect score. Just one. Although I was pleased to see on the spreadsheet that I still have the highest overall score in the class and that I scored the highest on the practicum. Someone beat me by two points in the lec exam. Next time, I’m aiming for perfect whether that’s lecture or lab. If it happens in both, all the better. But I will not miss my one last chance for finals.

It was funny, actually. When I asked to look at my lab practicum after lecture today, I could’ve sworn he missed one of my wrong answers. My prof handed it to me saying, “What more could you have gotten right?” Two more. I could’ve gotten two more, dude. I should’ve said that but I was too focused on double checking his work. He did mark me wrong. I know it sounds crazy to want to point out to a prof that they missed something, but I wouldn’t feel like I earned my grade if he let me off easy. I want to earn my grades, not be let off out of pity or something. (Granted, teachers aren’t perfect and they will occasionally miss something, but I just wanted to make sure of it this time for the sake of my own conscience.)

Well, there’s only a few more weeks until the end of the semester. Technically, next week is the last week of instruction, then finals week. It flew by so quickly. It’s just hard getting back into the swing of things after a nice long break. I’m pretty sure I’m sitting at an A in all my classes but Embryology. I’m at an effing 89. The worst possible position you could be going into finals. I need to get 90 or higher to get an A. It’s ridiculous. Hopefully I’ll be able to scrape by and get a 4.0 this semester so I have some padding going into Fall in case one or more of my classes utterly destroys me (aka medical microbiology — worst subject ever — and possibly medical pathology since that will be an actual med school class taken with actual med students). We won’t be allowed to go on rotations our second year if we don’t have a cumulative 3.0 GPA or higher. So a lot rides on this.

You know, no pressure or anything.

talk to me

