The Ugliest Kitchen

Woke up super grumpy today because construction started at 8:30am right outside my apartment to replace the carpet. I slept late too, which is my fault but still. They said that my section was scheduled for 1-5pm. Lies. They were scraping up against the wall where my bed is located at 8:30am on the dot. Thankfully I don’t have school today so being trapped in my apartment all day won’t be a problem.

Anyway, enough ranting. Today’s challenge is to talk about our home when I was 12 years old. Yeah, okay… Let’s see what I remember.

I’ve practically lived in the same house since I was born. That’s generalizing a bit, but it’s the only home I remember. At 12, my house looked different than what it is now. It had the ugliest green and white linoleum with some strange boxy, swirly design in the kitchen that was starting to crack. Above were these fluorescent lights that always flickered and go out. The kitchen was a tiny little box with these dark cabinets that lined the bottom and top of the entire box, including the stove. The counter was made of white tile that used to give me bruises on my knees whenever I climbed up to reach the top shelf of the cabinets. They were also child-proofed because my brother was only 6 at that time and I hated putting my finger in to unlatch that stupid plastic clip that bit my finger more times than I can count. (Yeah, they probably weren’t necessary, but I think my parents didn’t want to take them out.)

Outside of the boxy kitchen was more disgusting green carpet. It was shades of green, which mainly consisted of dark green with some splashes of bright green thrown in. It was ugly. It was worn and in dire need of replacing. There was also a big wooden table that could be expanded if need be for more guests where we ate dinner.

There was this wooden entertainment center the same color as our dining table. It had lots of cabinets where we stored our toys with the biggest space occupied by the TV. It wasn’t the typical flat screen TV you see these days because they didn’t exist back then. It was your regular, run of the mill, big, fat TV that weighed a million pounds. We’d watch so many cartoons on it. Scooby Doo, TMNT, Dragonball Z, Gundam Wing, Voltron, Power Rangers, all those Saturday morning cartoons on Disney and Nickelodeon, TGIF. There were some quality cartoons and shows back then, not this remade, sort of computer animated crap that’s on today.

Against the wall, there was this ugly khaki colored couch with orange stripes scattered around (I won’t say artistic because it was an ugly couch). The fabric frayed and wilted, but from what I remember it was still pretty comfortable. Opposite the couch there was a computer desk with an old school computer my dad built for us to use, especially for school. This is when Britannica was still only available in the library as actual encyclopedia books or on CD, which is what we had. The computer was incredibly slow and I don’t even remember if we had internet. I just remember hating using the encyclopedia discs for research, but my brother and I were pretty decent at Reader Rabbit (3 discs and all). Forget about Oregon Trail, we always died right out the gate. Although I think my brother got so close once before dying.

My parents did a major renovation when I was in high school (a freshman, I think) to open up the kitchen and install custom cabinets and granite countertops. Now it looks like something you’d see out of a model home magazine. Love it to pieces. It was actually really hard for me to remember those details before the overhaul. Guess I only remembered how ugly everything looked. 😛

talk to me

